Apex institution managing Sri Lanka's cultural heritage as an outstanding resource for diverse benefits of the nation.


To undertake scientific research, conservation, interpretation, development of and promote cultural heritage so that direct social, spiritual, educational, economic benefits of cultural heritage could reach entire nation, while ensuring that it is handed over to the next generation in full richness in terms of its heritage values.

Spanning over four decades of existence, the Central Cultural Fund has completed a commendable task in conserving and preserving the cultural heritage of Sri Lanka. The Institution played a key role in archaeological excavation and research, conservation and presentation of vast number of monuments scattered over these early and medieval kingdoms. Gigantic stupas of Abhayagiri and Jetavana including the monastic structures, medieval brick structures and city walls of Polonnaruva, palace and the royal gardens of Sigiriya, Painted Caves Dambulla and the Temple of the Tooth Relic and the surrounding four Devala complexes at Kandy were among the major monuments conserved under the UNESCO-Sri Lanka Cultural tangle Project.

Established under an: Act of Parliament, [Act No. 57 of 1980]

The Central Cultural Fund has power to receive funds from donor institutions and agencies in Sri Lanka and abroad and utilize such funds for heritage conservation and management activities. The Central Cultural was the implementing agency for the UNESCO - Sri Lanka Cultural Triangle Programme from 1980 -1997, which was a role model for such conservation, drives in the Asian region. This was the largest ever heritage conservation program carried out in Sri Lanka and one of the most successful UNESCO sponsored programs. Central Cultural Fund's high powered Board of governors is chaired by the Prime Minister of Sri Lanka and comprises of around 12 members including at least six Cabinet Ministers.

Recently the CCF is one of the principal heritage management institutions in the Island. The Hits of the institution covers archaeological investigations, conservation of built heritage, artifacts, murals and other decorative works, scientific research related to heritage conservation, and provision of heritage information and development of visitor infrastructure utilize at heritage sites. Commencing from six heritage sites, the CCF now handles 27 major project  located throughout the Island. Scope of the institution has been widened in the new millennia and the activities spread into other parts of the island as well. Accordingly, Southern cultural Promotion Zone and the Wayamba Cultural Quadrangle were established.

During the past few years the activities further widened to cover Northern, Eastern, Sabaragamuva and Western Provinces and Badulla District. Replica School also functions as an educational institutional and as a producer of quality replicas. Publication Unit of the CCF also plays a major role.